The City of Westminster is a London borough with city status, situated to the west of the City of London and north of the River Thames. It forms part of Inner London.

The city contains most of London’s West End, as well as the permanent headquarters of the United Kingdom’s government, with the Palace of Westminster, Whitehall, and the Royal Courts of Justice.

In 1965 the London borough was created from the abolished Metropolitan Borough of St. Marylebone, Metropolitan Borough of Paddington and smaller City of Westminster. The current London borough covers a far greater area than the original settlement of Westminster.

The area of Westminster is very appreciated by London’s visitors for its central location and numerous buildings and sights. The many parks and open areas offer a great quality of life for those who want to stay there and you will be two steps away from the main shopping area of the city and the vibrating district of Soho.

Share on Facebook Tweet this location