The London Borough of Wandsworth is a London borough in South West London and forms part of Inner London.

The borough was formed in 1965 from the former area of the Metropolitan Borough of Battersea and much of the former area of the Metropolitan Borough of Wandsworth, but excluding Clapham and most of Streatham, both of which were transferred to the London Borough of Lambeth.

According to the 2001 census Wandsworth has a population of 260,380. 78% of the population is White, 5% Black Caribbean, 4% Black African and 3% Indian. 52% of households are owner-occupiers.

Wandsworth also has a conflicting political makeup. Whilst the borough council is solidly Conservative, the borough elected three Labour MPs in 1997 and 2001 and two Labour and one Conservative in 2005.

Share on Facebook Tweet this location