Tate Modern

Tate Modern in London, England is Britain’s national museum of international modern art and is, with Tate Britain, Tate Liverpool, Tate St Ives, and Tate Online, part of the group now known simply as Tate.

The galleries are housed in the former Bankside Power Station, which was originally designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, the architect of Battersea Power Station, and built in two stages between 1947 and 1963. The power station closed in 1981.

The building was converted by architects Herzog & de Meuron, after which it stood at 99m tall. The southern third of the building was retained by the French power company EDF Energy as an electrical substation (in 2006, the company released half of this holding).

Since the museum’s opening on 12 May 2000, it has become a very popular destination for Londoners and tourists. Entry to collection displays and some temporary exhibitions is free.

Share on Facebook Tweet this location